Your Inner City (Working Title) Kate Cooper
Kate Cooper, Rendering View, 2018
Kate Cooper, WE NEED SANCTUARY, 2017, Courtesy of the Artist
Kate Cooper, Rendering View, 2018
Kate Cooper, WE NEED SANCTUARY, 2017, Courtesy of the Artist
Kate Cooper, Rendering View, 2018

For IMAGINE THE CITY, Kate Cooper has chosen to explore Hamburg’s self-image as a city. The standard design of international marketing strategies serves as a medium that allows her to expand on the polished surfaces of the location by adding the inadequacies of the ‘human factor’.

Kate Cooper (* 1984 in Liverpool) studied visual art at St. Martin’s College in London and obtained a scholarship from the Rijksakademie van beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. She is the director and co-founder of the London-based artist-led organisation Auto Italia. Her films, images and installations use computer-generated technologies to explore the place of the female body in the history of commercial image production.

Her works have been shown most recently at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam (2018) and in Rotterdam (2019). In 2015 she received the BEN Prize for Emerging Talent at the B3 Biennale of the Moving Image in Offenbach and in 2014 the Art Prize of the Schering Foundation in Berlin (2014).

Back

Your inner City Kate Cooper
Kate Cooper, Rendering View, 2018
Kate Cooper, WE NEED SANCTUARY, 2017, Courtesy of the Artist
Kate Cooper, Rendering View, 2018
Kate Cooper, WE NEED SANCTUARY, 2017, Courtesy of the Artist
Kate Cooper, Rendering View, 2018

Für IMAGINE THE CITY beschäftigt sie sich mit dem urbanen Selbstbild Hamburgs. Das Standarddesign internationaler Vermarktungsstrategien und deren Technologien dienen ihr dabei als Vehikel, mit dem sie die eleganten Oberflächen neuer städtischer Räume um die Unzulänglichkeiten des Faktors „Mensch“ erweitert.

Kate Cooper (* 1984 in Liverpool) studierte bildende Kunst am Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London und erhielt ein Stipendium der Rijksakademie van beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. Sie ist die Direktorin und Mitbegründerin der in London ansässigen, künstlergeführten Organisation "Auto Italia". Ihre Filme, Bilder und Installationen setzen computergenerierte Technologien ein, um die Position des weiblichen Körpers in der Geschichte der kommerziellen Bildproduktion zu erforschen.

Zuletzt stellte sie ihre Arbeiten im Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam (2018) und bei Tale of a Tub in Rotterdam (2019) aus. 2015 erhielt sie den BEN-Preis for Emerging Talent der B3 Biennale des bewegten Bildes in Offenbach und 2014 den Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung in Berlin (2014).

Zurück
Datum 1. Juni 2019 - 30. September 2019
Instagram