Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann, Dirty Parrots, 2018.
Courtesy Galerie Noah Klink, the artist.
Photo: Volker Renner
Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann, Dirty Parrots, 2018.
Courtesy Galerie Noah Klink, the artist.
Photo: Volker Renner

For IMAGINE THE CITY, Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann explores the maritime identity showcased on numerous occasions as part of the HafenCity programme, focusing on the pre- and post-civilising history of the urban area under water.

The artist and the curator thank the Hamburgische Kulturstiftung for their support in realising Backdrops.

Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann (* 1990 in Friesoythe) studied fine arts at the University of Fine Arts of Hamburg. In his installations, objects, performances and films he looks for the points of intersection between early cultural forms and current popular performance formats in the entertainment industry. From a fictionalised historical distance he describes the present and our relationship with it, causing even the most obvious certainties suddenly to appear fragile and brittle.

His works have been on show most recently at art associations such as the Dortmunder Kunstverein, the K├Âlnischer Kunstverein, the Kunsthalle Bremerhaven (all 2018) and the Kestner Gesellschaft in Hanover (2017). In 2016 he won the Art Cologne Award for New Positions; in 2017 he was awarded the Follow Fluxus Scholarship by the Nassauischer Kunstverein in Wiesbaden.

Back

Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann, Dirty Parrots, 2018

Im Rahmen von IMAGINE THE CITY greift Frohne-Brinkmann die in der HafenCity vielfach pro­grammatisch ins Bild gesetzte maritime Identität auf und widmet sich der vor-, beziehungsweise post-zivilisatorischen Geschichte des städtischen Areals unter Wasser.

Für die Unterstützung bei der Realisierung von Backdrops danken der Künstler und die Kuratorin der Hamburgischen Kulturstiftung.

Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann (* 1990 in Friesoythe) studierte Freie Kunst an der Hochschule für bildende Künste, Hamburg. In seinen Installationen, Objekten, Performances und Filmen sucht er die Schnittmenge zwischen frühzeitlichen Kulturformen und aktuellen populären Aufführungsformaten im Vergnügungsbereich. Aus einer fiktionalisierten historischen Distanz beschreibt er die Gegenwart und unser Verhältnis zu ihr und lässt unvermittelt scheinbar selbstverständlichste Gewissheiten brüchig werden.

Zuletzt waren seine Werke im Dortmunder Kunstverein, im Kölnischen Kunstverein, in der Kunsthalle Bremerhaven (alle 2018) sowie in der Kestner Gesellschaft Hannover (2017) zu sehen. 2016 gewann er den Art Cologne Award for New Positions; 2017 erhielt er das Follow Fluxus Stipendium des Nassauischen Kunstvereins Wiesbaden.

Zurück